Hello/Great Site

If you have privacy concerns, use a user name. This Support Board is for ex-CoC and those wishing to be ex-CoC. Others are asked not to read or post here. Check your email or trash for the email link to activate your account.
papaoliver

Hello/Great Site

Post by papaoliver »

My young wife's family was coC, so after much study I was baptized in 1968. The coC has a list of 'chain' scriptures, that when taken on their own are very logical and believable. I bought the 'cool aid,' and became a deacon, preached on occasion, debated, (converted and baptized many) and was asked to be an elder many times. I studied the bible daily, but only church of Christ approved scriptures. I learned them well and could wield them akin to a sharp sword.
I was horrified in the middle 1980s when it dawned on me I had never read the bible from beginning to end. Only daily studying coC 'chain scriptures.' So, I began a yearly study of the bible from Genesis 1 to Revelations 22. I was beyond astounded. The coC scriptures that appeared so logical (and true) paled when compared with the entire bible message. I was shocked, horrified, embarrassed, and ashamed not only that I'd believed and followed such a law based belief system, but that I had taught it to so many.
I was called to Army active duty (from the reserves) and was wounded, requiring serious surgery. My wife was also hospitalized with an illness and neither of us were able to attend Church services. We received a letter (not dis-fellowshipping us) but plainly stating that we were both lost and needed to repent. I refused to show the letter to my sick wife. In 2003 she died at age 50. Those who sent the letter stated that they had no idea we were so sick. I have never entered a church of Christ building since my wife's death. Knowing coC doctrine as well as I do I cut them to shreds in a biblical debates. They no longer wish to debate with me. papaoliver
bnot

Re: Hello/Great Site

Post by bnot »