Advice for practicing CoC family members

A place to snark and vent about CoC doctrine and/or our experiences in the CoC. This is a place for SUPPORT and AGREEMENT only, not a place to tell someone their experience and feelings are wrong, or why we disagree with them.
juliac

Advice for practicing CoC family members

Post by juliac »

Hi. I'm new to this support board! I'm only 18, however, I left the CoC mindset years ago. Over the last two years, I've had a fascination on how brain-washed I became with the CoC mindset. I grew up fearing God. I never knew the kind of love and grace that God offered. My parents became aware of the issues that of SOME CoC's. I think this was because of the new church we started attending in 2005. It's very progressive, even though many adults that attend grew up in the hardline CoC. We use instruments in worship, people are casually dressed on Sundays, and many ministers on staff are from other denominational groups. So technically, we are a non-denominational church. I went to a very hardline CoC school, however. My grandfather happens to be a "preacher" in the CoC, however him and my grandmother don't realize that our church isn't really a CoC. I've wanted to talk to them for years about my new faith. My parents have discouraged it from me only because they don't want to create a family feud. I know that they are too close-minded to accept any other denomination other than what they've done there whole lives. But, I am proud of my faith and I want to share with them how much my life has changed since my new relationship with God. I want them to see how the CoC has led many young people out of Church for good. Thankfully, God was able to use a situation in my life to reveal to me who He TRULY was. Does anyone have any ideas of what I should do regarding my grandparents?? Thanks!
Currently writing a book based on my experiences as a child in the CoC. Watch for updates so I can include other ex-members insights :)
agricola